CUWBC & CULRC crews take to the Tideway for Fours Head 2019

CUWBC & CULRC crews take to the Tideway for Fours Head 2019

Fours Head of the River  – Saturday 23rd November 2019


Ten crews will be representing Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club (CUWBC) and Cambridge University Lightweight Rowing Club (CULRC) at the Fours Head of the River Race in London this weekend.  


CUWBC and CULRC (racing as Granta) will have crews representing 20 of 31 Cambridge Colleges represented. Many of the new generation of Light Blue rowers joined the club straight from their College Boat Club, having learned to row as as undergraduates in their college boat clubs.  For some members of the team this will be their first race representing Cambridge University as part of the Light Blue team.

The Fours Head is the biggest event in the UK at this time of the season and will give the whole team an opportunity to race the very best crews from around the world.


CUWBC President Larkin Sayre says,

“The CUWBC squad are looking forward to our first major race on the Tideway. We love this course and can’t wait to show our speed alongside great crews from all over the UK (and world!)”


The race takes place from Mortlake to Putney, the reverse of the Championship Boat Race course and will see 489 crews racing including Universities, Clubs, Schools and International crews. Racing will begin at 12:45pm.  Conditions are predicted to be difficult with cold winds and a fast stream, the team are well prepared to give their best performance 


CULRC President Teague Smith is looking forward to the weekend with his team,

“CULRC is excited to be sending three boats to Four’s Head this weekend. This will be the first test of our speed and hard work against Oxford and the rest of the country and the squad is looking forward to stepping up to the mark.”


Crews for the weekend


W Academic 4+ 140 W Academic 4+ 146
Adriana Perez-Rotondo Newnham College Olivia Alliott Jesus College
Rebecca Smith Newnham College Florence Alexander Sidney-Sussex College
Abigail Parker Emmanuel College Catherine Walker Caius College
Caoimhe Dempsey Newnham College Ulrika Andersson Queens’ College
Dylan Whitaker (Cox) King’s College Angela Harper (cox) Churchill College
W Academic 4- 134 Op Academic 4- 50
Larkin Sayre Emmanuel College Luke Andrews Caius College
Eva Simkens  Clare College Samuel Armstrong Robinson College
Sophie Paine Wolfson College Edmund Coke Wolfson College
Laura Foster Queens’ College James Lee Homerton College
W Academic 4- 319 Op Academic 4+ 273
Morgan Morrison Homerton College Eryk Sokoloski Fitzwilliam College
Lea Balthussen Lucy Cavendish College Eytan Cortissos Peterhouse College
Victoria Walker Caius College Daumantas Kavolis Peterhouse College
Miranda Clements Hughes Hall Teague Smith Girton College
Jamie Bailey (Cox)  St John’s College
W Academic 4+ 142 W Academic 4- 139
Gloria Jansen Lucy Cavendish Bronya Sykes Caius College
Georgie Archer Trinity College Rebecca Dell Christ’s College
Grace Eickmann Downing College Emily McHarg Newnham College
Emma Pike Emmanuel College Sarah Portsmouth Newnham College
Sabrina Singh (Cox) Emmanuel College
Op Academic 4+ 274 W Academic 4+ 144
Matthew Edge St Catherine’s Gemma King St John’s College
James Crossley Churchill College Anna Harrison Wolfson College
Jack Reid Girton College Catherine King Caius College
Ben Wood Emmanuel College Joanna Matthews St John’s College
Josh Kershaw St John’s College Emily Insanally (Cox)  Fitzwilliam

For more information about the race go to


75th Women’s Boat Race and 45th Lightweight Men’s Boat Races in 2020


For more information about The Boat races go to

For more information about The Lightweight Boat Races go to



No Comments

Post A Comment